Back

Reviews - The Commons Amsterdam City

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 396 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Vicktoria E.
    Vicktoria E.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Very pleasant atmosphere with good decoration similar to The Student Hotel. Very kind and attentive waiters. The food was also great, the pizza was quite tasty and a generous size. The dough especially was great and the fillings were very delicious. I would definitely recommend this place! We had a nice time and enjoyed the food very much.

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Vicktoria, Thank you very much for your kind words! Your feedback is much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you loved the atmosphere in our restaurant, as well as the service from our staff and the food. Looking forward to welcome you again soon! Team The Commons City

  2. Marthijn V.
    Marthijn V.
    • 20 reviews
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff and nice lunch!

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Marthijn, Thanks for your review! We are very happy to read that you liked your lunch and the service in our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you again shortly! Team The Commons City

  3. Marti M.
    Marti M.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good pizza and great friendly service. Kids get to decorate their own pizzas which was fun!

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Dear Marti, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your time at our restaurant and the kids were able to make their own pizza's! Hope to welcome you and your kids again soon! Team The Commons City

  4. Chris c.
    Chris c.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food delivers on flavor and its well balanced. The sweetest staff team, very intuitive and makes you comfortable. Huge terrace for summer drinks and happy hour!

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Chris, Thank you very much for your positive review! We love to hear that you enjoyed the service of our team, as well as the flavors of the food. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon! Team The Commons City

  5. Silvana C.
    Silvana C.
    • one review
    9/10

    It’s a small cozy restaurant and they play by the new corona rules (distance between tables) The sweet potato fries weren’t crunchy but overall we had a good time. The cocktails are sweet and not too strong

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Silvana, Thanks you very much for your review. We are happy to hear you've enjoyed your time in our restaurant, the cocktails and our COVID-19 measures. However, we will speak with chef to ensure fries are going out crunchy at all times. Hope to welcome you again soon! Team The Commons City

  6. Robin V.
    Robin V.
    • one review
    10/10

    My first time at Commons today and I enjoyed it so much! Really nice and helpfull staff and a great atmosphere. And to top it of, amazing food and drinks ! Would recommend

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Robin, Thank you very much for your kind words! Your feedback is much appreciated and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at The Commons. We will pass your compliments to the team. Hope to see you again in the near future! Team The Commons City

  7. Dionne W.
    Dionne W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A great little restaurant away from the crowds, great staff, welcoming and appropriate covid measures carried out! Delicious food and cocktails! Would come here again!

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Dionne, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time in our restaurant and loved our food&cocktails. Looking forward to welcome you again shortly! Team The Commons City

  8. Bianca K.
    Bianca K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing Restaurant with really good service. Luke and Patricia were in charge of our group and they were incredible. We had a few drinks and the vegan burgers. Would highly recommend for a lovely evening with cocktails and good food! The terrace is especially comfortable to sit when the weather is good

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Bianca, Thank you very much for your feedback. This is much appreciated! We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your food&service. We hope to see you again in our restaurant any time soon! Team The Commons City

  9. Melissa C.
    Melissa C.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff where super welcoming and the setting was great. The presentation of our dishes where great. This was our first time but really not our last!!!

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Dear Melissa, Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your time at The Commons. We will forward your compliments to our team. Looking forward to see you again shortly. Team The Commons City

  10. Flor A.
    Flor A.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Very good food (delicious pizza & salad with Haloumi!), nice vibe and very friendly staff! Food is affordable, interior is spacious and has a nice informal atmosphere to it.

    The Commons Amsterdam City

    Hi Flor, Thank you very much for the kind words! We are happy you had a good time with us and are hoping to see you again soon. The Commons Amsterdam City

  11. Xantoucha T.
    Xantoucha T.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    The welcome was pleasant, but after the restaurant was filled with aprox. 10 people in total the (spanish) floor manager became very rude and stressed. We felt bad for her colleagues and she made a bad impression on us by behaving like this.

  12. Darby H.
    Darby H.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    I don't mind providing feedback on the food and service after the meal with survey's like this. I did not like being practically forced to complete a survey on handheld devices while in order to get our bill.

  13. Sylvia s.
    Sylvia s.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    Friendly attentive service, nice portions, well made up, tasty superb food. Try the awesome clay oven roasted handmade garlic bread! Surprising place recommended.

  14. Remy L.
    Remy L.
    • 35 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service.

  15. Salam S.
    Salam S.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Staff was really attentive, appreciate it!

  16. Remy L.
    Remy L.
    • 35 reviews
    8.5/10

    Slow service but great food!!

  17. Pascal R.
    Pascal R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Ne pas hésiter

  18. Mick S.
    Mick S.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Good comfort food for a fair price!

  19. Majella I.
    Majella I.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Was here for lunch. Interesting choice of dishes, enough different styles to choose from. Great ambiance, love the retro look! English speaking and very friendly staff. I wonder what it's like in the evenings ...

  20. Martina P.
    Martina P.
    • 19 reviews
    9/10

    Good food in a great location, but the best was the service. Patricia was a great waitress and made us feel at home - thanks again! Highly recommend.

  21. Emma L.
    Emma L.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice and reasonable price

  22. Marta S.
    Marta S.
    • 21 reviews
    7.5/10

    The place looks nice and central, nice atmosphere. The service is a bit slow but polite. The food is good but not too special.

  23. Sue r.
    Sue r.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Nice service,very good food,we had the chicken burger( excellent),the thaii soup was very tasty,and the white yoghurt was great. Perfect experience!

  24. Samantha v.
    Samantha v.
    • 6 reviews
    7/10

    The food was really good, we had a delicious hamburger and would come back for that. Besides that, it took way too long to order some drinks/get the drinks and the waiter wasn’t paying attention.

  25. Marie-Eléonore V.
    Marie-Eléonore V.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome !

  26. Robin v.
    Robin v.
    • 44 reviews
    10/10

    Great place, amazing food and the staff was very friendly and caring. Would definitely come back again!

  27. Ivo W.
    Ivo W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Informele setting. Spontane bediening. Hhhhhhhhjjjjjjjjjjjbbbbbbbbbbbnnnnnnnccccccccvddddddfffgvvvbbbbbbbbbbhhttttttyyyyyyyyyy

  28. Bahar G.
    Bahar G.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    They have a great lunch menu!

  29. Alexander v.
    Alexander v.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great !

  30. Ingeryerd M.
    Ingeryerd M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went to The Commons as I heard good stories about it from my collagues and glad to say they were all true. Food quality was amazing. Classics performed right. We had the sate which had all the right spices and balance. Caesar salad was good, crispy croutons and moist chicken. For mains we had the half chicken, chicken burger and the pasta. all really goo and quickly served. Great cocktails also. The athmosphere was alive but in balance. A mix of people and the staff was very helpfull. We will be back.

  31. Florin M.
    Florin M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    very good food and drinks, highly recommended.

  32. Ralph A.
    Ralph A.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Looks like they did something with previous feedback. Everything was excellent! Service was great, food was delicious and the atmosphere was very relaxt.

  33. Alexandre T.
    Alexandre T.
    • 47 reviews
    10/10

    Loves the place and atmosphere!

  34. Teuntje Z.
    Teuntje Z.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice place! Very friendly host and the food is really good!

  35. Marie-Eléonore V.
    Marie-Eléonore V.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Top !!

  36. Sylvie V.
    Sylvie V.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Nice atmosphère. Verry good food original recipies even if menu is casual (pizza, hamburger). Only the service is not that professionnal.

  37. Stephanie M.
    Stephanie M.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    the service was good. We came with 3 persons instead of 2 and it was no problem. The starters were good the main courses were ok. Portions had a good size.

  38. Dorian D.
    Dorian D.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    We chose and booked this restaurant because it describes itself as 'child friendly' . But when we arrived there was nothing for children at all. Not childrens menu... no children's drinks like milk shake or fristi etc. The toilets in the basement were down a lot of large metal stairs, not easy for the four year old. My three grandchildren were quite disappointed. I think it was a good place to eat for adults but and reference to child friendly should be removed.

  39. Marie-Eléonore V.
    Marie-Eléonore V.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    It becomes an habit now ... very nice service, very good food... what else?

  40. Marie-Eléonore V.
    Marie-Eléonore V.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome ! Family atmosphere and good food ! Thanks Eva !